Free Webinar: Faculty Perspectives on Publishing Open Access

Reports find that perceptions of OA publishing are changing for the better and as a result, many faculty members seek out OA publications for maximum access and impact.

However, other researchers continue to avoid it, and those who are early in their careers still aren’t sure how to fit it in their publishing priorities. In honor of Open Access Week, this one-hour webinar will feature three faculty members who will discuss why researchers do – or do not – publish in open access outlets and how they look to librarians for support in this process.

Featured Presenters:

  • Alan Daly, Chair and Professor of the Department of Education Studies at the University of California, San Diego, will discuss how open access publishing is the best option for the individual researcher and the research community as a whole.
  • Bruce Herbert, Professor of Geology and Director of the Office of Scholarly Communications at Texas A&M University, will discuss why researchers at his institution avoid open access outlets for publishing research and why subscription-based journals remain the best option for many.
  • Shannon Audley-Piotrowski, Assistant Professor of Educational Psychology at Smith College, will discuss publishing priorities for early-career researchers.
  • David Ross, Executive Publisher of Open Access at SAGE, will moderate the panel and take Q&A from webinar attendees.

During Open Access Week on Tuesday, October 20th

11am PST| 12pm MST| 1pm CST| 2pm EST

register_now_button_blue-300x163-300x163

     
This entry was posted in SAGE Connection, Tips for You. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply