The PSA Awards 2016 highlight an extraordinary year in politics

In the year that proved “voters always have the last word, last night the Political Studies Association (PSA) honored noteworthy academics, journalists, politicians, political campaigners and policy-makers who have made significant contributions to the conduct and study of politics


Ziyad Marar presenting the Innovation in Teaching Politics Award

SAGE’s President of Global Publishing Ziyad Marar presented the Innovation in Teaching Politics Award, which was won by Dr Matthew Wyman of Keele University. In his introduction Ziyad discussed the importance of defending social science research within the current political climate.

The appreciation for academic insight was also echoed by the Best Use of Evidence Award which went to Lord Stern of Brentford for his role in elevating climate change to the top of the political agenda in the mid-to-late 2000s. The judges also acknowledged his “robust approach leading up to, during, and following the Paris Climate Change Conference in late 2015, acknowledged as being an important part of a significant global diplomatic achievement.”

The importance of academic research was further highlighted by the Political Studies Communicator Award which was won by Professor Anand Menon, Director at the UK in a Changing Europe Initiative. His important contribution to the dissemination of evidence-based information on the UK’s role in Europe and the EU Referendum was crucial in helping to inform the public. Menon said: “I hope, despite the noise we heard about ‘experts’ during the referendum, that our work has shown to MPs, civil servants, journalists, business people, civil society – and indeed to academics themselves – that we have an important role to play in both analysing policy and informing public and political debate.”

The full list of winners can be found below:

  • Parliamentarian of the Year – Baroness Smith of Basildon
  • Politician of the Year – Sadiq Khan
  • Broadcaster of the Year – Laura Kuenssberg
  • Best Use of Evidence – Politician – Lord Stern of Brentford
  • Enlightening the Public – The Iraq Inquiry
  • Lifetime Achievement in Politics – Gordon Brown
  • Best Use of Social Media – Ruth Davidson
  • Campaigners of the Year – Margaret Aspinall and Professor Phil Scraton
  • International Recognition Award – Professor Michael Ignatieff
  • Journalist of the Year – Rachel Sylvester
  • Contribution to the Arts and Culture – Grayson Perry
  • Democratic Innovation – Democracy Matters Citizens’ Assembly Project
  • Innovation in Teaching Politics – Dr Matthew Wyman
  • Political Studies Communicator – Professor Anand Menon
  • J. M. Mackenzie Book Prize – Professor Christopher Hood and Dr Ruth Dixon
  • Sir Isaiah Berlin Prize for Lifetime Contribution to Political Studies – Professor Anne Phillips
  • PSA Student Short Video Competition – Christleton High School, Chester

Established in 1950 to develop and promote the study of politics, the PSA has an international membership including academics across political science and current affairs, theorists and practitioners, policy makers and students in higher education. The Annual Awards, now in their 15th year, celebrate individuals who have made significant contributions to politics.

SAGE Publishing, as proud publishers of the PSA Journals, is delighted to sponsor the annual awards. Given SAGE’s own commitment to championing and celebrating the social sciences, our two organisations are closely aligned and we are proud to work together in support of this important cause. As evidenced through last night’s awards the public, academics, media, culture and politicians have all shaped an extraordinary year in politics. In such turbulent and unpredictable political times, it is more important than ever to celebrate contributions and achievements within the field. Out warmest congratulations to all the winners!

Find out more about the awards here and about the PSA Journals here. The Awards ceremony was broadcast by BBC Parliament and the full social media coverage can also be found at the hashtag #PSAAwards.


This entry was posted in Industry news, Politics, SAGE Connection and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply