Free Webinar: Marijuana on the Mind: A Primer for Policymakers

Marijuana on the Mind: A Primer for Policymakers

Eight U.S. states have legalized recreational use of marijuana, 11 are considering loosening their laws this year, and even Congress is half-heartedly looking at ending the federal restriction on state marijuana laws. And yet the effects of marijuana on the brain, whether positive or negative, are poorly understood and in desperate need of further study in order to address important public health concerns. All of which is to say, policy has outpaced science in regard to marijuana use, suggest the authors of a recent piece in the current issue of Policy Insights from the Brain and Behavioral Sciences.

Join those authors, Staci A. Gruber and Kelly A. Sagar, in a free webinar on March 15th looking at both the brain science and the policy considerations related to widespread marijuana consumption. Gruber is an Associate Professor of psychiatry at Harvard Medical School and Director of both the Cognitive and Clinical Neuroimaging Core (CCNC) and the Marijuana Investigations for Neuroscientific Discovery (MIND) program at McLean Hospital. Sagar is a Research Associate in psychiatry at Harvard Medical School and McLean Hospital’s CCNC.

The hour-long webinar, sponsored by the Federation of Associations in Behavioral & Brain Sciences (FABBS) and Social Science Space, starts at 3 p.m. ET/noon PT. Ample time for audience questions will be provided. While free, online space is limited and so registration is requested. To attend, please click here.

Wednesday, March 15th

12 pm PST| 1 pm MST| 2pm CST| 3pm EST | 8pm GMT

register_now_button_blue-300x163

     
This entry was posted in Public Policy, SAGE Connection, Tips for You. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply