Free webinar on how authors and librarians can respond to book bannings

flame_whole_logo_bw_300ppiWhat’s it like to be the author of a banned or challenged book?  How do authors respond in these situations and how can librarians support them and the freedom to read? In honor of Banned Books Week, three authors will address these questions and more during a free webinar on September 29th at 8 a.m. PDT/11 a.m. EDT. Moderated by Vicky Baker, Deputy Editor of Index on Censorship magazine, and presented in partnership by SAGE Publishing and the American Library Association’s Office for Intellectual Freedom, the webinar will include perspectives from:

Jessirrca Herthel, a graduate of Harvard Law School and a co-author of I Am Jazz, a children’s picture book about a transgender girl

 

 

Christine Baldeeacchino, a former early childhood educator, and the author of the widely-acclaimed book Morris Micklewhite and the Tangerine Dress

 

 

Wenbbdy Doniger, Mircea Eliade Distinguished Service Professor of the History of Religions at the University of Chicago, and author of The Hindus: An Alternative History; and On Hinduism, which portrays the history of Hinduism outside of mainstream perspectives

 

Following the three presentations, there will be some time for Q&A. Register to attend the live webinar session by clicking the button below. (All registrants will receive a link to the webinar recording, so register even if you cannot attend the live event.)

Thursday, September 29th

8am PDT| 9am MST| 10am CST| 11am EDT | 4pm BST

register_now_button_blue-300x163

Index on Censorship is an international organization that promotes and defends the freedom of expression.

     
This entry was posted in SAGE Connection, SAGE news. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply